Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6679
Comments: 16714
Ratings: 4967
Forum Posts: 22735
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1989 Articles » Bigstorm - 1989 Living In Exile
Bigstorm - 1989 Living In Exile

ARTIST: Bigstorm
ALBUM: Living In Exile
SERIAL: 256 159-1
YEAR: 1989


LINEUP: Stewart D'Arrietta - vocals, keyboards * Bjarne Ohlin - guitars * Don Miller-Robinson - guitars, bass, vocals * Huey Benjamin - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Don't Look Down * 02 Rubber Love * 03 Monster Of A Love * 04 Once In Bed * 05 Not Guilty * 06 Happy New Year * 07 Take It Back * 08 Difficult Times For The Princes * 09 Beware Of The Cure * 10 Love On The Telephone * 11 Flying

Another Australian outfit from Sydney with a very classy melodic rock album. As the name implies, they do have a big sound, which combines elements of bands such as The Believers, Mike And The Mechanics, and perhaps fellow Aussies INXS and Noiseworks, the latter band especially from their 'Touch' era. All of these guys are fairly well known in Australian music circles, D'Arrietta is a very active composer and is involved in theater work in Sydney. He was also a member of the band The New Republic, and released a solo album called 'Side Effects' back in 1985. Ohlin was previously with The Divinyls and spent many years with them and has also done some minor theater work, while album producer and band member Don Miller-Robinson has spent many years in different lineups and like D'Arrietta has a history as a composer/producer. And to top it off, drummer Huey Benjamin was previously with Australia's top indigenous rock band Yothu Yindi. So, all in all, a talented lineup with an extensive history outside of the traditional rock medium. So, one can only postulate what bought them together. Perhaps a genuine synchronicity of their collective talents expressed in a musical forum? Whatever is the case, there are some interesting songs onboard, and for the sole album that they released, they've left us with a reminder of their talent. Their label Sire was a strange choice, not exactly known for signing Aussie acts, considering that their biggest artist was Madonna.

The Songs
Anyhow, the album gets off to a great start with the booming 'Don't Look Down' with some awesome keyboards and strutting guitar lines from Ohlin and Miller-Robinson. 'Rubber Love' is as energetic as the title suggests, and also appeared on the soundtrack to the movie 'The Big Steal' (1990). Another cool song is the dark city atmospherics of 'Love On The Telephone'. The vocals of D'Arrietta have a very coarse edge to it, and does take some getting used to, even on their moodier moments such a 'Monster Of A Love' (interesting title) and 'Happy New Year'. 'Not Guilty' is another track which works up a sweat, as does 'Take It Back'. On some of the tracks they get a little obtuse I feel, like 'Difficult Time For The Princes' (lyrically what is this all about guys? Ed), and 'Beware Of The Cure'. The last track though called 'Flying' is a majestic piece, and brings to a close an interesting melodic rock album.

In Summary
Seems the guys are still active in various musical projects throughout Australia, though nothing as melodic as their efforts with this one and only Bigstorm album..

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | super80boy on April 24 2014 16:42:30
Bigstorm remind me (especially the vocalist) of the Irish band The Fountainhead. A big crooning vocalist at the helm coupled with sweeping arena rock melodies. While there are no single song standouts, this one off album does provide a satisfying listen.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Starbuck - 1976 Moonlight Feels Right, Alaska - 1984 Heart Of The Storm, Tyler, Bonnie - 1983 Faster Than The Speed Of Night, Light - 1981 Keys, Radiation Romeos - 2017 Radiation Romeos, Marathon - 2001 The Year Of You, Newman, Troy - 1995 It's Like This, Wood, Joseph Lee - 2002 Joseph Lee Wood, Megadeth - 2011 TH1RT3EN, Impellitteri - 1993 Victim Of The System (ep), Rock, Rob - 2001 The Rage Of Creation Interview, O'Hora, Tony - 2006 Escape Into The Sun, Dirtyworks - 1992 Dirtyworks, Dare - 1988 Out Of The Silence, Melodine - 2003 Out Of Your Hands
Dust Kerry Ellis Adrian Gurvitz Shark Island Seventh Key Manowar Shaun Cassidy Actors And Actresses Santana Tunefish Blondie White Widdow Imperial State Electric Roq Royale Gambler Nathan Shaffer Rock Candy Records Candy Firehouse Charlie Charlie Dore Sonata Arctica Buckcherry Redd Kross Men At Work The Cranberries Queensryche Oleander Waterloo Pat Benatar Kobra And The Lotus Degreed Saga Pseudo Echo
All Tags