Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1987 Articles » Hybrid Ice - 1987 No Rules
Hybrid Ice - 1987 No Rules

ARTIST: Hybrid Ice
ALBUM: No Rules
LABEL: Pilot
YEAR: 1987


LINEUP: Chris Alburger - vocals, rhythm guitars * Bob Richardson (aka Robert Scott) - vocals, keyboards * Galen Toye 'Rusty' Folke - vocals, guitars * Jeff Willoughby - bass, vocals * Rick Klinger - drums, vocals

TRACK LISTING: 01 Never Comin' Back * 02 Fallen Angel * 03 Scars On My Heart * 04 Fool Me Twice * 05 Secret Dreams * 06 The Night Is Still Young * 07 I'll Be Waiting * 08 It's Only Love * 09 Poor Little Rich Girl * 10 I Won't Be Far Away


Like the bands Dakota and Synch, these guys Hybrid Ice are one of Pennsylvania's best kept secrets. That is of course, unless you live in the state where they are considered to be local legends. Belive it or not, these guys go way back in time, late sixties in fact, where the trio of Folke, Willoughby and Klinger had been the mainstays of the band right from the beginning. Playing local gigs helped secure them a solid reputation. However, it wasn't until the inclusion of the vocally gifted Chris Alburger that things started looking up for the band. His Dennis De Young/Jon Anderson styled voice helped move the band into melodic rock/AOR territory. Not that any of the others couldn't sing. Far From it. All of the band could sing lead. Their debut album which came out at the tail-end of 1982 was an impressive release for an unsigned band. It wasn't until 1988 that the band had the resources to release their second, and long overdue follow up.. 'No Rules'.

The Songs
There are, without question, some excellent moments onboard here. In particular the stunning 'Scars On My Heart', AOR of the highest order, similar to the wonderfully understated Beau Coup. Another standout is the track 'Secret Dreams', written by the bands producer Bill Grabowski, along with a couple of obscure personnel called Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora and Tico Torres! Other gems include the ballad 'I'll Be Waiting', along with the melodic mid-tempo pair of 'The Night Is Still Young' and the opener 'Never Comin' Back'.

In Summary
Continuing on over the years, the band had a stop/start existence. Particularly during the nineties, where by the end of it all, Rusty Folke was the only original member left. In 1998, he put Hybrid Ice to sleep, though recently, all the above named members have agreed that a get-together is very much a possibility, for a third album, and a series of low-key gigs. Wouldn't that be nice to see? In the meantime, the debut Hybrid Ice album has been picked up by Escape Music for a re-release on CD format during 2001. Well worth collecting for posteritys sake, but strangely this one is on the outer.. Hmmm..

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | trillion1999 on October 20 2011 15:46:18
I had it but got rid off it.I did not remember anything on this one only that everything sounded far too much Bon Jovi to me.The first one on the other hand has some anthems with just the kind of POMP that I like or even love.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 100% [1 Vote]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG