Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6825
Comments: 16465
Ratings: 4520
Forum Posts: 21582
Latest Comments
This debut is chocked ful...
The band really broadens ...
I've seen this many times...
A classic indeed and thei...
I hoped more from this al...
It was Heather Thomas in ...
Actually, 'Find The Lady'...
Cheers Dave, looking to g...
Great, Malcolm! I can hel...
Dave, it's already set up...
Great list, Jeffrey. The ...
Maybe an interview with G...
Finally got a copy of thi...
Thanks for the download y...
Yes Dave, I agree New Yor...
Very cool. I've always ha...
As a musician and avid li...
The problem with AOR as a...
Thanks Jose. However, man...
I would have voted "no" a...
You must login to post a message.

21-01-2018 21:04
Lucky and now skint, judging by the winning bid!!

21-01-2018 20:47
Some lucky Jeff Lynne fan got a real rarity!

21-01-2018 09:43
Yep in Argent, especially as Rod Argent and Jim we’re cousins.

21-01-2018 07:43
Didn't Rodford also play in Argent and Charlie too?

20-01-2018 22:04
Jim Rodford, bass player, The Kinks, Phoenix (I think?), but I remember him with The Zombies, saw live a while back. RIP

17-01-2018 21:50
In response to Cyrille Regis, BBC 2 repeat the Adrian Chiles documentary, Whites v Blacks, How Football Changed A Nation, unbelievable true story, worth watching

17-01-2018 18:44
Review of the rather splendid `Hornal` album is in the works too.

17-01-2018 01:57
Dave and Jeff's best of 2017 wrap-up's just around the corner too.. computer work

17-01-2018 01:56
There is a three-part article coming up for E.L.O (Eldorado, A New World Record and Out Of The Blue). Look out for it soon.

16-01-2018 08:52
Stoke fans have my commiserations.Und
er Lambert the Villa played some of the most boring, unimaginative football I`ve ever had the misfortune to witness.Relegation
?,yes I`d say so.

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1987 Articles » Noiseworks - 1987 Noiseworks
Noiseworks - 1987 Noiseworks

ARTIST: Noiseworks
ALBUM: Noiseworks
SERIAL: 451033-2
YEAR: 1987


LINEUP: Jon Stevens - vocals * Stuart Fraser - guitars * Justin Stanley - keyboards * Steve Balbi - bass * Kevin Nicol - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Burning Feeling * 02 Love Somebody * 03 Take Me Back * 04 No Lies * 05 River Of Tears * 06 Welcome To The World * 07 Edge Of Darkess * 08 Little Bit More * 09 Only Loving You * 10 It's Time


This album was reasonably big time when it was released down under in 1987. A couple of videos to coincide and it wasn't too long before they became the darlings of Sydney. However, it all started back as far as 1982, when key members Jon Stevens and Stuart Fraser got together and formed the nucleus of the band. Over the next 4 years they gradually got the personnel required, called themselves The Change, and finally hooked a deal with CBS. Stevens was a popular teen singer back in his homeland New Zealand, but before he turned 20 his career looked like it had come to an end, so he ventured over to Sydney in search of fame and fortune. The rest they say.. is history. There is a big sounding feel to this album, pounding drums and spacious guitar bought to the fore by well known producer Mark Opitz. Most of these songs rollick along in grand fashion. Hard to pin down influences, but perhaps a rock oriented Simple Minds with balls would be the best comparison! Their sound is hi-tech, brash, but fortunately they do not have that trademark 'aussie' sound as defined by their local peers AC/DC, Rose Tattoo or Cold Chisel for that matter.

The Songs
Most of these songs I love, like the fantastic 'No Lies', 'Take Me Back', and the fast paced 'Little Bit More', the first two both well known via radio exposure. Coincidentally, the co-writes for these three songs are Stevens and Brent Thomas, formerly Sharon O'Neill's main man. Then there is the anthemic 'Love Somebody' and my favourite track overall 'River Of Tears' which is so atmospheric. 'Welcome To The World' is similar to Eight Seconds material though less technical, while the Simple Minds connection appears on 'Edge Of Darkness'. Also, there's lots of parping keyboards on the Steve Balbi written song 'Only Loving You' which is followed by the album closer 'It's Time' another moody and atmospheric track.

In Summary
For me, this album is the pick of their releases, the others 'Touch' and 'Love Versus Money' lost a bit of gloss in the mix for my liking. During the early nineties Noiseworks broke up but I understand they have now reformed in 1999 and are touring and putting product out. Jon Stevens is now the lead voice for perennial Oz rockers INXS, taking over the role from the late Michael Hutchence.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | jefflynnefan on September 28 2010 04:28:47
I've been listening to this lately. I forgot how much I liked the song 'Little Bit More'.
#2 | gdazegod on November 20 2015 23:33:05
Noiseworks - 1987 No Lies
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Hellfueled - 2005 Born II Rock, Jarrett, John (Tribe) - 1984 John Jarrett, E Wade - 1986 Foreign Shores, Dimino - 2015 Old Habits Die Hard, Salute - 2009 Toy Soldier, Laine, Denny - 1980 Japanese Tears, Dareforce - 1985 Makin' Our Own Rules, Arena - 2003 Contagion, Amun Re - 2001 Magic Kingdom, Mormino, Brad - 2001 Love Hurts Anyway, Fleischman, Robert - 2002 World In Your Eyes, Wildstreet - 2009 Wildstreet, Duke Jupiter - 1982 Duke Jupiter 1, Silverwing - 1983 Alive And Kicking, Butler, Marty - 1982 Marty Butler
Sojourn Loud And Clear Trooper EP Three Lane Road Roger Joseph Manning (Jnr) Jellyfish Planet X Tank Thor Pagans Mind M.D.G Matthew Guarnere Grand Prix Michael Stanley Band Tamas Xeron INXS Rock Candy Records Still Life Chevy Yellowstone Zaneta Eva Morningstar Rod McInnes Jimi Jamison Rock Candy Records Target Unison Motley Crue Mc Queen Street Robertson Bros Gary U.S Bonds Blackhawk Mystery (Australia) Deep Purple Rock Candy Records Coney Hatch
All Tags
Search DDG